Citrus butter cookies

August 22, 2013 § Leave a comment

Image

Rakesh will probably tease me to death after reading this post because just last night I was complaining about how difficult it’s been to lose the last six pounds of my pregnancy weight. Ahem. But I couldn’t let another summer go by without making these cookies. It just seems too inappropriate to let the recipe linger past the warmer months ( although in Dubai, the heat can go well into October. So who am I kidding?).

They are just what the name implies: citrusy and buttery. And I mean bring on the butter, baby. Butter and sugar mix with copious amounts of orange, lemon, and lime for a treat that says, “I don’t taste as guilty as I sound…”

Now if I’m honest, I will say that one of the reasons I’ve been avoiding these cookies, delicious as they are, is because of the glaze. I absolutely hate working with icing (confectioners) sugar. It gets everywhere. Even the air feels sticky. So I adapted the recipe to minimize the mess. I also have learned to sift the sugar over a bowl in my sink to try to contain the inevitable tuft of fine powder getting everywhere.

Citrus Butter Cookies slightly adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier by Ree Drummond

I found that this recipe created around 3 dozen cookies.  I baked a dozen, then formed a log out of the remaining dough on parchment paper, and froze it for slice and bake cookies later.

For the Cookies

  • 4 sticks of butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 3 Tbs orange, lemon, and lime zest (1 Tbs each)
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbs orange, lemon, and lime juice (total)

For the Icing

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • splash of whole milk
  • Juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 teaspoon of egg white
  • Extra zest, for garnish

Preheat the oven to 350.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar until fluffy and light.  Add the egg yolks and mix until combined.  Add the 3 tablespoons of citrus zest.  Add the flour and salt and mix until combined.  Finally, add the 2 tablespoons of juice and miz until dough is formed.  Scoop out heaping teasoons of the dough, then roll them into balls and place on a cookie sheet.  Bake for 12-13 minutes then allow to cool completely on a cookie rack.

To make the icing, combine all the icing ingredients and whisk thouroughly to desired consistency.  If it’s too runny, add more sugar.  Too thick?  More juice or milk.  Drizzle the icing across the cookies and sprinkle zest before the icing sets.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Citrus butter cookies at the bunny and the bear.

meta

