Homemade chili powder

July 31, 2013 § Leave a comment

Let me begin by saying that this has been one of the MOST challenging weeks of motherhood for me.  I would say it has been a nightmare, but that would insinuate that I have been getting sleep–which I haven’t.  Sophia is growing up so fast and all the spoils of the first three months are coming to an end:  sleeping through the night, napping three hours in the day, watching reverently in her swing as mommy does some Tracy Anderson workouts.  What happened?!  I thought my baby was the most chilled out baby the world had ever seen.  So accommodating, so peaceful.  Now its like wrestling a bag of snakes to get her to lie down for bed time.  And keeping her asleep for more than three hours is nearly impossible.  Hopefully my restful and relaxing evenings will return to me soon.  In the meantime, there is homemade chili powder.

As I said last week, I’ve been searching high and low throughout Dubai for chili powder, of the tex-mex variety.  I normally get the cheap Walmart brand in the gallon size everytime we go to the US, but some new recipe favorites had me going through it at light speed.  My mom suggested that I try making my own and I actually, surprisingly had everything I needed to make it.  It is mostly dried chilis after all, and I was fortunate enough to have bought an insane amount out of the blue last March while in Florida.

I did a little research and discovered that chili powder recipes are very personal, addition of ingredients based on each individual’s tastes.  I have to admit, after tasting my first batch, I went back and added some more spices to get it just right.

Nihalani Chili Powder

3 Ancho Chilis

3 Pasilla Chilis

3 Guajillo Chilis

1 Tbs cumin seeds

1 Tbs coriander seeds

1 Tbs garlic powder

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp dried oregano

Take out the stem and seeds of the chilis.  Split them down the middle and lay them flat on a baking sheet.  Add the cumin and coriander, then toast in a 300 degree oven for 5-8 minutes.  Remove the pan and allow to cool.  Crush the chilis by hand into a spice grinder.  Add the cumin, coriander, garlic powder, paprika, and oregano, then pulse to a fine powder.  Makes about 1/2 cup.

I used mine to make these fantastic chicken enchiladas!

image

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homemade chili powder at the bunny and the bear.

meta

