Chocolate cinnamon bagels

July 23, 2013 § Leave a comment

Sophia and I have spent the whole week at home recuperating from our vacation.  Actually, we are both getting over a cold which I’m pretty sure we got on the airplane ride home.  She got it first though…honestly.  While most of our time has been spent migrating from bed to couch to play mat to bed, I did get a chance to make some bagels (insert squeal of delight here).

You see, in Dubai, we don’t have bagels necessarily. We have Lender’s and we have bagel-shaped bread.  Rakesh loves bagels, though, and he settles on Lender’s for his fried egg breakfast sandwiches because, before our last trip to New York, he forgot what a good bagel tasted like.  Crusty on the outside, chewy on the inside, laced with your favorite flavors and a thick smear of cream cheese.

I remember going to Murray’s in Chelsea last March having just arrived in New York a couple hours prior.  It was to be our first meal.  I ordered an everything bagel with vegetable cream cheese and Rakesh ordered the same but with plain cream cheese and tomato.  We asked for them to be toasted and the guy behind the counter looked at us with disdain.  “No toaster here,” he said.  We both thought that was really weird, but once we bit in, we realized it didn’t need the toasting at all!

Which brings me to this bagel.  I’ve had a craving for cinnamon anything this week (I already made almond granola and cinnamon bread), and when I saw cinnamon raisin bagels on Annie’s Eats, I got super excited.  I started immediately, making the sponge, letting it rest, gathering ingredients.  Then I realized, I didn’t have any raisins.  I had dried cranberries, dried figs, dried cherries, dried tropical fruit trail mix, but no raisins.  I was about to add the cranberries, sure that I would regret their tartness, when I saw my big jar of semi sweet chocolate chips.  A perfect substitute!

The recipe called for quite a few steps, but it was so easy.  I was afraid of losing the chocolate chips in the boiling process (the water looked like hot cocoa after the first batch), but everything came out wonderfully.  With a smear of cream cheese, it was the perfect decadent morning start I wanted.

Image

 

For the recipe go to Annie’s Eats

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chocolate cinnamon bagels at the bunny and the bear.

meta

