Strawberry Cupcakes and a Baby Shower…

October 4, 2011 § 1 Comment

Marrying into a different culture has afforded me many opportunities to make a complete ass of myself, although through no fault of my own.  The latest blunder being a baby shower for my sister-in-law.  Rakesh and I had bought a gift that wouldn’t be delivered until a few days after the event, and not wanting to show up empty handed, I thought I would make some delicious strawberry cupcakes.  I wanted them bright pink, since the baby will be a girl…Duh.

I got there a little early, so I signed a huge congratulations poster at the front of the room, then sat down at a table next to my mother-in-law, who speaks very minimal–minimal–English, and one of my sister-in-law’s friends.  As I chatted with the girl, I noticed that next to decorations saying, “It’s a girl!” were an equal number saying, “It’s a boy!”

“Why do they have boy decorations up?  That’s so weird,”  I said to the girl.

“Oh, because they don’t know the sex of the baby yet.”

“No way, really?” I asked, completely confused because the whole time I’d been told it was a girl.  “But Rakesh and I got them all girl stuff!”  I then called over to my sister-in-law to confirm whether or not the baby was a girl as I thought, or if I was going crazy.

“It is Indian tradition,” she said, “that only the family should know the sex.”  Oops.  I hoped I hadn’t spilled the beans too much, and looked guilty over at my bright pink cupcakes.  I was able to move past the incident, until a few days later when I saw pictures posted of the shower.  Someone took a picture of the giant poster/card and posted it with my announcement that I couldn’t WAIT to meet my new NIECE!  Oh the horrors.

Sprinkles’ Strawberry Cupcakes adapted from Martha Stewart Show February 2008

Makes 1 dozen cupcakes

  • 2/3 cup whole frozen strawberries, thawed
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup whole milk, room temperature
  • 1/8 cup strawberry yogurt, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 2 egg whites, room temperature

Preheat the oven to 180C (350F).  Line a 12-cup muffin tin with cupcake liners and set aside.

Place strawberries in a small food processor and process until pureed.  You should have 1/3 cup of puree.  Add more strawberries if necessary.  In a medium bowl, sift together flower, baking powder, and salt.  Separately, mix together milk, yogurt, vanilla, and strawberry puree.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter on medium high speed until light and fluffy, about five minutes.  Gradually add sugar and continue to beat until well combined.  Reduce the mixer speed and slowly add the egg and egg whites until blended.

With the mixer on low, slowly add the flour mixture in two parts, alternating with the milk mixture, until blended.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a spatula until blended.  Divide batter evenly among prepared muffin cups.  Bake until tops are dry to the touch 20-25 minutes.  Cool cupcakes completely before icing.

Sprinkles’ Strawberry Frosting from Martha Stewart Show February 2008

I found that this recipe made WAY too much frosting, even though it says it’s for a dozen cupcakes.  I only used about half  that the recipe called for.  I’m writing the recipe as is, but it can–and should–be halved if using for 12 cupcakes.  Just saying…

  • 1/2 cup whole strawberries, thawed
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Place strawberries in a small food processor and process until pureed.  In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together butter and salt on medium speed until light and fluffy.  Reduce mixer speed and slowly add sugar.  Beat until well combined.  Add vanilla and 3 tablespoons of strawberry puree; mix until blended, but be careful not to overmix.  Frosting consistency should be dense and creamy.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Strawberry Cupcakes and a Baby Shower…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Strawberry Cupcakes and a Baby Shower… at the bunny and the bear.

meta

