No, no gnocchi…

September 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

I made a boo boo.  Not that I never make mistakes or anything, but I was really disappointed in this one.  I made a doughy gnocchi.

It’s not often that I indulge in a bowl of pasta–it’s hard for me to balance the guilt of a carbohydrate-filled meal–but gnocchi has a soft spot in my heart.  I’ve seen it made on TV a dozen times, and it always looks so easy, so when I saw a recipe for Sweet Potato Gnocchi with a Butter Sage Sauce, I mean, come on.  Who wouldn’t want to dive in, right?  Roasted sweet potatoes mixed with autumnal spices, turned into pasta, then bathed in brown butter.  Mmmmmmmmm…

Everything started out easy enough: roast potatoes, allow to cool, remove skin, place in food mill…oh, I don’t own a food mill.  So I decided to grate the potatoes with a standard grater, but got frustrated with goopy hands.  That’s when I made the ultimate mistake–I decided to use an immersion blender.  Gnocchi is silky smooth, right?  Big time boo boo.  While I did end up with silky sweet potato puree, I also pulled out practically all of the water that is inside (and should stay inside) the potatoes.  Naturally, this meant that I had to add more flour to get it the dough the right consistency.  Maybe I should have taken a hint when I added the second cup of flour (when the recipe called for 1-1 1/2 cups), or even when the dough turned from a happy orange to a dilapidated brown–but alas, the light bulb above my head had not switched on yet.  Don’t get me wrong, I was sure something went awry, but I couldn’t be sure without tasting it.

I continued to make the sauce and cook the gnocchi, assuring myself it couldn’t be that bad.  Oh, but it was.  And a real shame too because the brown butter sage sauce was heavenly.  Rakesh, as kind as he is, decided to eat it with a massive amount of hot sauce.  I couldn’t stomach it and threw it right into the garbage.  Thank goodness for frozen pizza.

 

P.S.  Apparently a grater would have worked just fine, if only I didn’t mind potato  fingers…

 

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading No, no gnocchi… at the bunny and the bear.

meta

