Much ado about strawberries…

August 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

As previously mentioned, I went a little bit crazy on the fruit last week.  As a matter of fact, I’ve been doing an insane amount of baking trying to polish off my supply and stuff them in the freezer before they go rotten.  I was lucky enough to get about 500 grams of strawberries last week that didn’t quite ripen until just a few days ago.  So after making my typical-but-oh-so-tasty breakfast of blueberries and sliced strawberries, I thought I’d take the remaining dozen or so and put them to good use–by baking with them, of course!

So I went and researched some recipes that included strawberries, and when I saw this one, I knew I had to make it: Brown Butter Strawberry Banana Bread.  I am a sucker for anything with bananas in it, bananas so ripe they look like Dumbledore’s cursed hand (Half-Blood Prince anyone?).  And although the thought of browning butter AGAIN almost turned me off, I had to give it a try.  My husband says it’s like a smoothie in bread.  Oh how I miss Jamba Juice…

This bread is not as sweet as most banana breads I’ve eaten, even though I added strawberry flavored yogurt instead of just plain, but it is still really good with a cup of coffee at breakfast.  Mmmmmm.  I’ve only changed a couple of things from this recipe that comes from Joy the Baker.

Brown Butter Strawberry Banana Bread

Adapted from Joythebaker.com

  • 6ounces unsalted butter, browned
  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup strawberry yogurt
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (2 large bananas)
  • 3/4 cup diced strawberries plus 2 strawberries sliced thinly for topping

Preheat oven to 175 C (350 F) with the rack in the center of the oven, and grease and flour a 9×5″ loaf pan.  Now, brown your butter by putting a saucepan over medium-low heat.  Snap,crackle, pop, it should start to foam and then brown.  You can swirl it in the pan or stir it with a spoon, just be careful not to let it burn.  When it smells nutty, remove it from the heat and set it aside to cool.

Next, combine your dry ingredients into a large bowl: flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon all become close friends.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, vanilla, and yogurt.  Add the mashed up bananas.  Add the butter once it has cooled, or it will curdle your mix and scramble your eggs.

Combine the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, folding to make sure it incorporates well.  Fold in the strawberries, and make sure everything is combined without over mixing.  Scrape the bottom just to make sure.

Pour the batter into the loaf pan and bake for about 15 minutes.  After 15 minutes, pull out the loaf and top with the sliced strawberries.  Bake for an additional 35-45 minutes.  A skewer poked in the center of the loaf should come out clean.

I let my loaf cool in the pan until it is room temperature, but experts suggest after 15 minutes, inverting it onto a wire rack to finish cooling.  Whatev.

Now if this bread lasts longer than a couple of days, I suggest slicing it and storing it in individually slices in the freezer to grab and go.  Good luck!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Much ado about strawberries… at the bunny and the bear.

meta

